Pradhan Mantri Swasthya Suraksha Yojana

Announced in 2003, Pradhan Mantri Swasthya Suraksha Yojana envisions to rectify regional imbalances in terms of accessibility of reliable and affordable tertiary healthcare services and spread superior medical educational facilities.

The scheme comprises two basic components: 1) setting up new AIIMS-like institutions and 2) upgrading enlisted Government Medical College Institutions (GMCIs). Till now, over 20 AIIMS and 75 GMCIs have been covered.

Pradhan Mantri Swasthya Suraksha Yojana is divided into three phases as follows:

  • First phase

In the first phase, the government is to establish six new AIIMS-like institutions, one each in Bihar (Patna), Chattisgarh (Raipur), Madhya Pradesh (Bhopal), Orissa (Bhubaneswar), Rajasthan (Jodhpur), and Uttaranchal (Rishikesh). For each institution, the estimated cost is Rs. 840 crore. Moreover, 13 existing GMCIs are to be modernized with an estimated cost of Rs. 120 crores each.

  • Second phase

In the second phase, the government has approved to establish two more AIIMS-like institutions, one each in West Bengal and Uttar Pradesh. This phase also focuses on modernizing six existing GMCIs in Punjab, Himachal Pradesh, Tamil Nadu, and Maharashtra. In this phase, the estimated cost for each AIIMS-like institution is Rs. 823 crore, whereas that for each medical institution is Rs. 125 crore. 

  • Third phase

In the third phase, the government proposes to modernize or upgrade existing GMCIs in the states of Uttar Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, Bihar, Kerala, and Karnataka. The estimated project cost for upgrading each institution is Rs. 150 crore, of which Rs. 125 crore and Rs. 25 crores are given by the central government and respective state government, respectively.

For more information click here.

Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.